Oh, Hello Voice! There You Are: The Power of a Blog

When it comes to blogging, I am about four months old.  Prior to these four months, I had never even conceived the idea of publishing MY own thoughts and opinions on the World Wide Web. Who cares what I have to say? I had a Facebook, I had a weak LinkedIn profile (this is still debatable), and that’s it. No Twitter to microblog, and no blog. This all changed in February when I was forced to step outside of my box, jump in headfirst, and start cranking out some content on this nifty site they call WordPress. Now, there are a lot…a lot…of bloggers out there.  I just wanted to post something today that reflected my experience, thus far, as a “blogger.” Being exposed to the world of blogging has been one the most empowering experiences of my life.

The anxiety. What am I going to write about? I like to do yoga, I was bartending at the time, a former college athlete…what can I write about that will offer people valuable information? My first 10 blog posts nearly sent me to crazy town. What if people don’t like what I have to say? What if my grammar is terrible? What if no one reads my stuff? Traumatizing. But, I got through it. In three months, I spit out 25 posts, consisting of 18 interviews I had with small business owners in Reno, and produced a 5-minute slideshow of all the businesses I featured. It was stressful, but I now have a voice that I never knew I had. Here’s the video I put together:

Still being fairly new to the blogging world, I have seen results. Doors have been opened for me. I have been offered jobs, I have landed an internship, I started my own business, I have found a new career, I have been asked to speak about my experience, I have reconnected with friends, I have made so many new friends, I have built an invaluable network underneath me, and I may have even gotten a date or two (hey, this is my blog, this is real life). I have met some of the most AMAZING people, and I have seen a side of this town that has just blown me away. The picture to the right is of myself with the talented chef and owner of Campo, Mark Estee. I wouldn’t have experienced any of this, if it weren’t for my blog, if I didn’t position my voice in front of the world. The power of taking thoughts and ideas, creating them into a post, and publishing YOUR voice on the Internet has an insurmountable amount of potential.

We all have information in our minds that will offer value to someone else. I don’t care what it is that you write about. I have witnessed individuals writing about do-it-yourself, self-esteem, tough motivation, “mommy blogs”, quality control…I can go on for days, there is brilliance everywhere. Point is, all of these bloggers are producing groundbreaking content because they are passionate about their topic and they understand that what they are producing is offering value to people. Challenge yourself. Step out of your comfort zone and put your thoughts out there for everyone to enjoy, or hate! I promise you that there is someone out there that cares about what you have to say, and you never know what it could lead to. Is it a lot of work? You betcha’. Does it take time to see results? Ugh, yes. Is it worth it? Absolutely. The power of a blog is insurmountable.

What kind of value can you offer to people? I challenge you.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Oh, Hello Voice! There You Are: The Power of a Blog

Leave a Reply

